Jump to content

  •  

chat bug

when premium ended

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 iowa

iowa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 59 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 04:30 AM

Hello,

There is something wrong with the chat system now that the premium has ended. I cannot see my own typing any more.
Channel button lights up, so I know I typed something somewhere, but I can only see it when I press on the active channel I typed or the view all button.
Not seeing what you type is very annoying, and when I see what I typed, I cannot see the name of the channel in the typing.
Tried logging out and in, still  the same.

#2 PandemiC

PandemiC

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • LocationLondon, United Kingdom

Posted 26 November 2012 - 04:55 AM

Posted Image

A bit of visual representation.


Talking on channel 1 but seeing no @1, nor knowing which channel you typed in. (even if I were to select say channel 123456 as my active channel and type @@1<message> I would still see that ^)


The issue seems to be with premium membership as iowa pointed out.

#3 Aislinn

Aislinn

    Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 08:20 AM

My premium is set to expire today and my channel numbers and text show normally (in all 3 modes: old behavior, tabbed chat, chat window styles).
That said, I was never able to join more than 3 channels and my #sto command always showed x/300 slots used.

Linux client, compiled from source.

#4 Learner

Learner

    God

  • Administrators
  • 2756 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:04 AM

View PostAislinn, on 26 November 2012 - 08:20 AM, said:

My premium is set to expire today and my channel numbers and text show normally (in all 3 modes: old behavior, tabbed chat, chat window styles).
That said, I was never able to join more than 3 channels and my #sto command always showed x/300 slots used.

Linux client, compiled from source.
Your problem sounds like either a compile that didn't enable the new features or still running the old version

As for other peoples problems, we're looking into it and I've been extending people Premium by a month as I know they are having issues.

#5 iowa

iowa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 59 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:56 AM

I greatly appreciate you, learner for listening and immediately trying  to find a solution.
Respect.

#6 Aislinn

Aislinn

    Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 26 November 2012 - 12:09 PM

Ok, for my issue, I did a fresh git pull, and in the Makefile.linux, changed (near the top):
OTHER_LIFE = -DOTHER_LIFE

to

OTHER_LIFE = -DOTHER_LIFE -DOTHER_LIFE_EXTENDED_CHAT


#7 themuntdregger

themuntdregger

    Official Troll

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 1001 posts
  • LocationBehind you

Posted 26 November 2012 - 03:32 PM

wow, fixed my issue too. ty aislinn :wub:

#8 Fantastika

Fantastika

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • LocationLietuva

Posted 27 November 2012 - 01:04 AM

Hi :) yesterday i didn't have same problem, but now i have it too >.< chat with no numbers, like in Pandemic screenie.


VideLe

#9 scarr

scarr

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 744 posts

Posted 27 November 2012 - 03:03 AM

i just left all channels, restarted my client, and it was fixed

#10 Learner

Learner

    God

  • Administrators
  • 2756 posts

Posted 27 November 2012 - 06:00 AM

We're testing a fix. A new copy of ol.exe is available from http://www.other-lif...l-chat-fix1.zip for Windows. Rename your old ol.exe and then copy this one in. Once we're sure it's working we'll be updating the full downloads.

#11 Fantastika

Fantastika

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • LocationLietuva

Posted 27 November 2012 - 07:09 AM

Thank you Learner, that helped for me to get ch numbers again ^_^

VideLe

#12 AlddrA

AlddrA

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 28 November 2012 - 03:34 PM

Worked for me too o/, thank you!

#13 arxan

arxan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 01 December 2012 - 05:17 AM

i uploaded a linux binary http://arxan.paunix....ol.linux.tar.gz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users